Sam Albee

Democracies in the EU

The 27 EU states are representative democracies with elected representatives. In all EU countries with the exception of Cyprus there is a head of state and a head of government - . The distribution of power between the two differs significantly in the EU countries. The head of state can have purely representative tasks, but also exercise executive rights.

The French form of government is called semi-presidential, the majority of the EU states are considered parliamentary. In 12 states there is a second chamber in addition to the House of Representatives, which, however, except in Italy, has fewer rights than the first.
In all EU countries except Malta there are more than two parliamentary parties. With a few exceptions, this leads to coalition governments - law assignment writers . In addition, certain party families with a common (European) tradition have emerged in Western Europe, which also work together in the European Parliament.

Representative democracies

As early as 1849, the French poet V. HUGO (1802–1885) brought the “United States of Europe” into the debate. The plan for a European Union was then adopted as a draft treaty by the European Parliament in 1984 and the uniform European Act was adopted in 1986; the Treaty on European Union came into force on November 1st, 1993. 

The currently 27 member states of the EU (Fig. 1) are representative democracies and, with the exception of Great Britain, all have a written constitution. In representative democracy, the power of the state comes from the people . The influence of the people is - social studies homework helper , however, predominantly on participation in elections and participation in parties,Associations and initiatives limited. Plebiscitary elements like in Switzerland (popular initiative, referendum) are very limited in the EU states and often only possible at regional level. In order to make existence in the sovereign state bearable for the individual, in order to protect him as a person, the power of the state is kept within limits by a differentiated structure. The principle of separation of powers in

  • Executive,
  • Legislative and
  • Judiciary.

The EU countries show differences in the organization of this separation of powers. There are basically two types of representative democracy :

  1. the parliamentary system of government and
  2. the presidential system of government.

Read also:

Biochemistry & molecular biology
Economic thinking in the early modern period (14th to the end of the 18th century)
Natural numbers, axiomatic structure
Natural numbers, historical